contactIn December 2001, the EU diplomatic mission in Ottawa decided to create the EU-Canada Young Journalist Award to recognize outstanding journalistic merit or potential among Canadian students.

The idea: write or record a story about the European Union or EU-Canada relations, and you could be chosen to embark on an all-expenses paid study tour of Europe. The tour focuses on EU institutions in Brussels, including an opportunity to meet the Brussels press corps — the largest permanent press corps in the world.

Award winners are also invited to an awards ceremony in Ottawa attended by senior government officials, the diplomatic corps and journalists.


In order to be eligible, students must be:

  • Actively enrolled in a Canadian university or a post-secondary institution
  • Between the ages 18-30
  • Canadian citizen or permanent resident


Canadian students are invited to submit a news report or opinion piece on a current issue facing the European Union or EU-Canada relations in the form of a piece that could be published or broadcast in the Canadian media. The closing date for applications is Friday, January 31, 2014 (postmark).

Submissions may be either a news story or opinion piece max. 1,000 words or an audiovisual report up to 90 seconds in length, in French or English. Submissions should be prepared with a Canadian audience in mind. Judges will pay particular attention to journalistic qualities and potential, including rigorous research and factual accuracy.

In addition to the submission, applications must comprise:

  1. The student’s résumé (curriculum vitae)
  2. A letter of motivation clearly outlining the reasons for applying and the anticipated benefits to be derived from participation in the study trip, with particular reference to the student’s future career objectives
  3. Official administrative document issued by the university or college, verifying student status and enrolment
  4. Letter of reference
  5. Proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status

Applications should be sent by e-mail to or by mail to: Delegation of the European Union to Canada Ms. Mélina Chimal Pilon Ref.: EU-Canada Young Journalist Award 150 Metcalfe Street, Suite 1900 Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1P1

For audio-visual entries (CD, DVD, USB), please submit six copies by mail with the application, so that they can be distributed to the members of the jury.


yja2013_winnersThe winners are selected by an independent jury, which in the past has included Mr. Paul Wells (Maclean’s magazine), Ms. Manon Globensky and Ms. Emmanuelle Latraverse (Radio-Canada), Ms. Leslie MacKinnon (CBC) and Mr. Daniel Leblanc (The Globe and Mail) as well as academic experts, specializing in journalism or EU affairs – Patrick Leblond (University of Ottawa).

The jury consists of five members. Two jurors are practicing Canadian journalists or individuals active in the industry. One juror who is a Canadian academic with expertise in the field of journalism or European Union studies, and the other two jurors will be representatives of EU missions in Ottawa. The jury will meet in February 2014 to select the best three submissions. The jury’s decisions are final. Winners are required to chronicle their trip online (i.e. blogging, social media). A list of previous winners is available online.

For more information, visit the European External Action Service’s website.